Why Did Sen. Cruz Endorse the Republican Nominee?

Dear Senator Ted Cruz,

Be honest with me. Is your conscience really leading you to endorse a candidate that won’t defend freedom and has promised to defile the constitution, or are you just another Washington sell out?

When I first heard about your endorsement of the republican nominee, Donald Trump, I couldn’t believe it. I didn’t want to believe it. Deep down I couldn’t accept this as truth. I wanted to believe that my candidate was one of principle. Of honor. Of integrity.

I remembered the speech you gave in Cleveland. When you told me not to stay at home; to stand, and speak, and vote my conscience, and to vote for candidates up and down the ticket whom I trust to defend our freedom and to be faithful to the Constitution. Senator Cruz what happened to the constitution?

What happened to the Ted Cruz that boldly and bravely stood against an angry mob for his convictions?

I read your facebook post of your explanation of this sudden decision. You cited the pledge that you made as your first reason for this change.

As much as this infuriates me, I thank you for being faithful to the pledge. I understand that Donald Trump nullified his pledge first. And although not everyone will agree with or respect your decision, I want your critics to know that you never made this oath to the other candidates. You made this commitment to the Republican Party. By honoring your pledge, you have displayed the real difference between yourself and Donald Trump, I know that you are a man of honor. Unlike the current republican nominee.

But your reason doesn’t make hearing this news any easier. I’m still sick to my stomach over this.

The second reason that you cited for this shift is, that Hillary Clinton must be defeated. Your exact wordage was “even though I have had areas of significant disagreement with our nominee, by any measure Hillary Clinton is wholly unacceptable — that’s why I have always been #NeverHillary.” I have to ask, do you truly believe that Donald Trump is the lesser of two evils?

Sen. Cruz, deep down you know that this isn’t true, because you know you can’t trust Donald Trump. As you stated on the campaign trail Donald Trump is “a pathological liar.” As for the six issues that you pointed out in your post, you know that these are irrelevant. Mr. Trump is not going to nominate Sen. Mike Lee to the supreme court. In fact Sen. Lee has made statements that he doesn’t want to be on Trump’s list of potential supreme court nominees, and that he won’t endorse the republican nominee. And imagine Mitch Mcconnell allowing this decision to pass.

Yes, Mr. Trump will sign legislation to repeal the Affordable Care Act (ACA), but he has also said in a 60 minutes interview that he plans to replace it with nationalized healthcare. We need to elect this guy to replace ObamaCare with TrumpCare?

And you mentioned the freedom of the internet. What leads you to believe that Trump will support the freedom of the internet when he doesn’t fully support the freedom of speech? Did you forget that he wants to sue the press for negative articles published about him? Did you forget that he threatened to sue you over an ad that you ran of a 1990s interview of him saying, he is pro-choice?

And the other three points you make sound good, Trump did make some promises that I hope he will fulfil if elected president. But again, how can we trust a pathological liar? He will honor his promises made on the campaign trail, just like he fulfilled his pledge to the GOP. Trump will go back on his promises once they no longer serve his personal interests.

Sen. Cruz, I respect your commitment to fulfill your pledge and I understand your reasoning for making this decision to be, we need to beat Hillary. But what if Trump wins? I cannot cast a vote for Donald Trump. And I say this based on a quote from the American Founding Father, Alexander Hamilton, “If we must have an enemy at the head of government, let it be one whom we can oppose, and for whom we are not responsible.” Sen. Cruz, I cannot follow you down this path. I will not give either of these candidates more power. I cannot vote for evil.

Sincerely,

Britton Wolf

Leave a Reply

