Ted Cruz’s Major Endorsement!

landscape-1469122101-ted-cruz-rnc

The other day, I went to the DMV to get a replacement driver’s license and while I was waiting for my number to be called; I couldn’t help but overhear a woman’s voice exclaim, “They might not like ‘em but he sure’ll tell you the truth!”  

Immediately I asked myself, who and what is this woman talking aboutI shifted in my seat to put a face to the unfamiliar voice, she was speaking to her husband, who gave out  a “hell ya! Sure wil…”

But she cut him off. “Never imagine me votin’ for a Yankee, but this election I’m happy ‘bout it. He’ll make America GREEEEAAT!” I chuckled to myself, is this a Frosted Flakes commercial? They’re GR-R-REAT!

Having voted for Senator Cruz in the South Carolina primaries, I couldn’t hold myself back.  I had to poke the bear. “Yes ma’am, he’s about to get us back on track! So what do you think about that senator from Texas? What’s his name? Uh… Te…”

But before I could finish my sentence she shot back with a, “Cruz?”

“Yes Ma’am, that’s him.”

“Oh he’s a liar, has no honor. Cruz should’a come good his pledge and endorsed Trump.”

After hearing this response I felt confused, why didn’t this woman view Cruz’s speech as an endorsement of Trump?

Why Wasn’t Sen. Cruz’s Remarks an Endorsement of Trump?

Since this incident at the DMV I have gone back and reviewed the speech that Sen. Cruz gave at the Republican National Convention. Cruz began by addressing Cleveland and then congratulated his opponent for securing the party nomination.  He spoke of a number of incidents including the Dallas shootings, attacked both Hillary and Pres. Obama for their policy flaws. He spoke of freedom and its importance, and how our nation was founded upon the phrase: I want to be free. He reminded us of our nation’s accomplishments; that we are still a great nation, regardless of what others may say.

And then he gave the greatest endorsement that anyone could ever ask for, he said “Stand, and speak, and vote your conscience, vote for candidates up and down the ticket who you trust to defend our freedom and to be faithful to the Constitution.”

To the woman at the DMV: do you not believe that Mr. Trump will defend our freedom? That he won’t be faithful to the Constitution?

To the men and women that attended the RNC and booed Sen. Cruz: why did you assume that he wasn’t talking about your candidate? If your candidate doesn’t fulfill this description then why are you upset with Ted Cruz? Trump is the one that we can’t trust to defend our freedom, or remain faithful to the Constitution…

The Real Issue…

Of course Trump voters will answer, “No, we do trust him to defend our freedom and be faithful to the Constitution.”  If their conscience leads them to vote for Trump then these remarks were an endorsement of Trump. So what is the real issue?

The issue is that other members of the Republican Party also retain their right to conscience, and that their conscience won’t lead them to vote for this charlatan. Trump voters abhor that someone else can exercise their freedom in a manner that they don’t approve of. But who are they to tell someone else how to vote, or that my vote is wasted?

In 1781, Thomas Jefferson said that “it is inconsistent with the spirit of our laws and Constitution to force tender consciences.” So why do they proceed in this this direction?

I don’t view Donald Trump as the conservative his supporters try to paint him out to be, rather I believe he is a progressive.  As much as he attacks the left, he doesn’t directly attack their policies or ideals. His attacks are personal attacks of their appearance, leadership abilities, etc. Trump is the king of committing the ad hominem fallacy.  And he doesn’t attack their policies because he has previously held or still holds similar beliefs.

Now returning to the question of why? This is a typical play straight out of the progressive playbook, if someone disagree then they must be rejected, scorned, and silenced.

Remember: Progressives always have good ideas, ideas so good they’re made mandatory.

I will not play into their games, or scare tactics.  I won’t waste my vote by voting for someone that doesn’t represent me or my religious and traditional values. I won’t be responsible for putting this man in the white house; something that Alexander Hamilton warns us against, “If we must have an enemy at the head of government, let it be one whom we can oppose, and for whom we are not responsible.

Leave a Reply

