Dear Senator Ted Cruz

AP_ted_cruz_rnc_jef_160721_12x5_1600Dear Senator Ted Cruz,

Thank you.  I respect your performance at the Republican National Convention, and as an individual who voted for you in the primaries you have cemented in my mind, that I voted for the right guy.  That I did not waste my vote.  That you truly believe in the principles you championed on the campaign trail. That you, my candidate, is one of principle and honor. That you are willing to place the interests of our country above the party.  That you are not afraid to stand firmly upon your convictions, wherever that may lead.

I want to be very clear, you did not violate your agreement.  On March 29, 2016 in a CNN town hall, Donald Trump, voided the pledge.  He announced that he would not support the republican presidential nominee and that he did not want your endorsement.  Mr. Trump broke his oath to you and the Republican Party.

What I found most astounding about your speech was the reaction of the audience, the line that set so many people off was: Stand, and speak, and vote your conscience, vote for candidates up and down the ticket who you trust to defend our freedom and to be faithful to the Constitution.  You didn’t ask anyone to vote for a specific candidate, you only asked people to vote their conscience.  To vote for someone that will defend freedom and be faithful to the constitution.  Why did republican voters assume you weren’t speaking about their candidate?  Can they not trust Donald Trump to defend freedom, will he not be faithful to the constitution?

My favorite line from your speech was the following: America is an idea, a simple yet powerful idea: freedom matters.  I know that Ted Cruz believes “Freedom Matters.”  You have proven it; through your message on the campaign trail and by your performance the other night.  You bravely stood against the republican elites by refusing to endorse a candidate that will not remain faithful to the constitution.  Some are calling this move “a career ender.”  Yet, you willingly stood and spoke your mind, completely disregarding the backlash that will result from your actions.  I applaud you for remaining true to your principles and the message that you campaigned on.  You proved that you are not a servant of the political elites.  You reminded us of principle over party, that it is necessary to stand against your party when it’s wrong.  That we have an obligation to stand for the truth and for freedom.  You reminded us what it means to be a conservative, that these principles are too precious to give up.  You reminded us what a true statesmen looks like.  Sen. Cruz, you reminded us of Reagan.

Read the remarks of former President Ronald Reagan, from his impromptu speech of 1976: http://www.nationalcenter.org/ReaganConvention1976.html

12 thoughts on “Dear Senator Ted Cruz

  1. Dear Senator Cruz.
    I am one of your constituents and live in Dickinson, a community located on the Gulf Freeway between Houston and Galveston. I voted for you to be our Senator and voted for you to be our President. Your speech was an inspiration and you maintained your integrity throughout the speech. I am very proud to call you my Senator. I will vote to keep you as my Senator and will vote to make you our president in 2020.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I AM A FOREVER–CRUZER. I WAS SO HAPPY WHEN YOU STOOD IN FRONT OF SO MANY PEOPLE AND WAS SO HONORABLE. YOU WILL HAVE MY VOTE. THANK YOU FOR STANDING UP FOR OUR COUNTRY AND FOR OUR CONSTITUTION AS YOU ALWAYS HAVE. I APPRECIATE YOU AND YOUR FAMILY SO MUCH. KEEP TRUCKING ON. WE ARE ALL WITH YOU.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ted Cruz you are our hero. If more husbands would stand up for their wives there would be less divorces and more happy marriages. I know God is smiling on you and you are a witness to how to be a great husband and champion for God and our country.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Senator Cruz,
    I applaud you for standing for your principles, I would give anything if you were the nominee for 2016. I will be voting for you in 2020. I feel that you are the only one that will fight for God, freedom and the constitution. Thank you for being a true patriot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Now Let’s go Stop this Ideology that has such destructive policy to grow Government make people more dependent upon it less safe, poor, with less Liberty and Freedoms. Progressive Democrats will destroy and is destroying the Fabric of Western civilization and making the World much more Dangerous. Please help and support us Ted I supported you so you owe me and Grandchildren.

    Like

    1. TED OWES US NOTHING. HE VOLUNTEERS TO BE OUR VOICE. HE SACRIFICED HIS TIME AND SAFETY TO BRING US WHAT A TRUE CONSERVATIVE IS. WE OWE HIM OUR LOYALTY, AND ENCOURAGEMENT, AND MOST OF ALL OUR PRAYERS TO ALMIGHTY GOD FOR HIS SAFETY AND CONTINUED LOVE FOR HIS PRINCIPLES AND AMERICA. THANK YOU LORD FOR SENATOR CRUZ AND ALL LIKE HIM. WE PRAY OUR NATION WILL NOT BE DESTROYED BY THE TWO CANDIDATES RUNNING FOR PRESIDENT. GIVE US CONGRESSMAN WHO WILL STAND FOR RIGHT.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Dear Senator Cruz,
    I have been with you since before you announced your presidential run and will be with you in 2020!
    I was so very proud of you at the GOP convention. You stood strong and humble! A loving husband and son and a blessed man!
    I will continue to pray for you and your family! And that Texas will return you to the senate! Though I’m from Ohio and cannot vote for you, I will have your back!
    God bless you!

    Like

  6. Dear Senator Cruz:
    Thank you for standing for We the People, the Constitution, Liberty and Freedom! I was so proud of you at the GOP Convention for standing for principles and values. I was privileged to see your speech in person at the Johnson County Community College. You are a man of integrity and I am proud to say I voted for you in the Kansas caucus. I was in tears when you suspended your campaign. I wish I could vote for your Senate run in 2018, but I will vote for and support you in 2020. You and your family are in my prayers. Again, THANK YOU!!

    Like

  7. I first took notice of Ted Cruz when Obama and a fist full of Democrats showed Obamacare down America’s throat. I stayed tuned to CSPAN and watched as much as I could. I watched Ted Cruz debate in congress with a passion I’ve rarely seen.. I know he was exhausted, hours on end with facts, fighting this ‘tax’ that we had to swallow. So I studied up on him. What makes this man , who represents my state of Texas so passionate to fight for her ppl? I found many fights he fought, often long and hard, some he won, some he didnt… But by the Grace of God he was in the fight! What did he gain tho?
    Animosity. Ridicule, a lot of condemnation from other seats in the house. Yet, still, he stood up time and time again to right the wrongs of Washington. Defended America. As he still does. Holy cow, I was impressed! And the only thing he walked away with each time was the peace found of doing what’s right. He stood alone often, he stood with a few occasionally, but never did he let Washington buy him or his integrity and honor. So unlike any other! Ted Cruz had and will have my vote for Senator , President, Supreme Court.. doesn’t matter what, he has my vote. He is a force that Washington can’t handle.
    Ted Cruz, I vote you, 2016, 2020, 2024,’28,32… everytime. I admire the wonderful man, father, and leader you are. I’m in awe that America has become so complacent that good values, morals, ethics, and integrity are no longer what we look for in a President.
    It is a scary world we face, and I pray we have you and Heidi to bring this travesty to an end. God Bless you and your family. Stand Tall. Stand brave. Stand firm.
    Sabrina (Bre) Sullivan
    Tyler, Texas

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I have supported you right along. Always stay obedient to GOD and HIS laws and HE will stand beside you, no matter what comes. We need strong, upright, leaders.
    And you have proved to be one of them.
    The crowd at the Convention tended to act like a mob and
    it was refreshing when you got up and spoke as a statesman.
    Thank you for standing for the Constitution.

    Like

Leave a Reply

